OLT Awards for Teaching Excellence

Teaching Awards celebrate a group of the nation’s most outstanding university teachers in their fields. Teaching Awards give recognition to teachers (individuals and teams) renowned for the excellence of their teaching, who have outstanding presentation skills and who have made a broad and deep contribution to enhancing the quality of learning and teaching in higher education.

The eight categories of Awards for Teaching Excellence in 2015 are:

  • Biological Sciences, Health and Related Studies (including Agriculture, Animal Husbandry, Medicine, Nursing etc)
  • Early Career
  • Humanities and the Arts
  • Law, Economics, Business and Related Studies
  • Neville Bonner Award/s for Indigenous Education
  • Physical Sciences and Related Studies (including Architecture, Building and Planning, Engineering, Computing and Information Science)
  • Social Sciences (including Education)
  • The Priority Area for 2015 is:High impact strategies for progression, retention and attainment.

Up to 16 Awards each with a value of $25,000 will be granted across the eight categories in 2014. The University may nominate two individuals or teams in each category  each year.

Considering applying for this award?


Step 1

Step 2

  • Attend the workshop on Tuesday 10 March 2015.
  • These resources may help you in completing your application.
  • Consult the successful applications kept at the ITL reception, Fisher Library Level 2 South, during business hours.
  • Contact the ITL for assistance with your application.

Step 3

Step 4

  • Prepare your application, noting carefully the criteria and requirements.

Step 5

  • Submissions selected for nomination are due for resubmission by 5pm, 22 June 2015.
  • Click here to submit your application.

Step 6

  • The applications selected by the University will receive additional support in fine-tuning their application prior to submission to the OLT. Nominations must be submitted by the University.